May 24, 2023

5,187 Fans Cheer Aurora to 5-0 Win, Opening Their 2023 Season


EAGAN, Minn. – Cat Rapp opened Minnesota Aurora’s 2023 campaign with a goal in the fifth minute, delighting 5,187 fans at TCO Stadium in Eagan. Defender Makenzie Langdok crossed the ball to the far right post, and Rapp took care of the rest to start the scoring frenzy.

Minutes later, the sequence repeated. From the left side of the field, Mariah Nguyen’s cross found a waiting Hannah Adler, giving Aurora a 2-0 lead and Adler her first career goal in  Minnesota. 

In the 35th minute, Cat Rapp scored her second goal of the night and solidified her position as the Star of the Game. Forward Maya Hansen stood strong before delivering a defense-splitting pass to Rapp down the middle of the field for 3-0.

Rapp had three goals during the 2022 season, and she is well on her way to surpassing that after two goals this match. 

“With the players that we have, I believe we can be clinical and score,” said Cat Rapp on the 5-0 victory. “How we played tonight, we were ruthless. If we continue doing that every game, there’s no telling what could happen.” 

Less than a minute later, Maya Hansen got a goal of her own with a rocketing shot outside of the 18-yard box. Hannah Adler assisted on the goal. Maya Hansen now has five career goals for Minnesota Aurora. 

The fans who braved the windy conditions all game were rewarded in dwindling minutes with a goal from Jelena Zbiljic. In the 81st, Kristelle Yewah had the touch to breeze past Rochester FC’s substitute goalkeeper Emma Knack, but it was Zbiljic who capitalized on the loose ball for the team’s fifth and final goal of the game. 

“It was a really exciting night. The team enjoyed being back in this atmosphere with all our  wonderful fans and the community behind us,” said Head Coach Nicole Lukic. 

Minnesota Aurora’s next game is Saturday, May 27 at the Chicago Dutch Lions. They will be back in action at TCO Stadium against RKC Third Coast on 31 May. Schedule and ticket information can be found at Home matches will be streamed by Fox 9.